Being a tourist in your own city

When you live somewhere day in, day out, I find it can often happen that you take that place for granted. Living in Bath, a place I genuinely feel is one of the nicest places you could live in the UK, I’m definitely guilty of forgetting everything it has to offer.

With a few days of holiday before I started my new job, Alex and I decided to finally sign up to get our Discovery cards and become tourists in our own city. For those of you who don’t live in Bath, the Discovery card is free to all Bath residents, and gives you discounts and free entry to main attractions around the city, such as Thermae Bath Spa, the Jane Austen Centre, and of course, the Roman Baths, which is where we decided to visit.

img_1577

The last time I went to the Roman Baths, I must have been about 8, so I was interested to see how much of it I could remember. It’s currently undergoing some reconstruction, so we couldn’t see everything, but with no rush it was great to be able to wander at our leisure and learn about how it came to be there from our audio guides.

img_1574

It’s a little mind-blowing when you think about how old it is, and all the people who would have spent time there thousands of years ago. It also makes you realise how important it is that places like this are looked after properly so that everyone has a chance to visit them.

img_1578

After spending an hour or two feeling cultured, we headed round the corner from the baths to Bill’s, one of our favourite restaurants to go to, whether for breakfast, brunch, or lunch.

I opted to have the mojo chicken skewers with a cucumber and herb couscous salad and warm piadina bread. Despite being such a cold winter’s day, it was so nice to eat food that reminded me of being on holiday in warmer climates.

img_1580

Alex went the other way and chose the shepherd’s pie, good old comfort food to fill him up. He let me have some and it was DELICIOUS, so I’ll definitely be giving that a go next time I’m there.

f88c3262-ed95-4247-9ad7-a7329bd44e48

All in all, it was a great way to spend an afternoon in Bath, especially as it was a weekday so we didn’t have to wait in any queues. I’m already planning how else we can put our new Discovery cards to work!

One thought on “Being a tourist in your own city

Leave a Reply

