TV Shows: What I’ve been watching

Recently, we’ve managed to get through quite a few TV shows that seem to have been on our ‘To Watch’ list forever. I’m trying to work out why this is, and I think it’s a combination of the awful weather we’ve been having at weekends that’s kept us indoors, and the fact that most of the shows have been quite addictive.

Firstly, Line of Duty. I found out about this show from watching Gogglebox, and was sad to find out the season on TV was the third, but very happy to see season 1 and 2 on Netflix. I’ve seen YouTubers like Vivianna Does Makeup talking about this, and it’s funny how I’d never heard it talked about whilst the first two seasons were on, because it’s SO. GOOD.

Annoyingly, by the time we finished what Netflix had to offer, season 3 had disappeared from iPlayer so it’s one that I’m going to be eagerly waiting for. If it’s anything like the first two (full of suspense, smart, constant twists) then it’ll be brilliant.

We’ve also finished the first season of Billions, with Damian Lewis and Paul Giamatti. I find it funny that Damian Lewis seems to be having much more success as an American than a Brit, with Homeland and Billions both being received extremely well. I have to say that Paul Giamatti is an actor I’ve seen in so many things without knowing his name, and he’s massively underrated. He plays an attorney for the government in this, whilst Lewis is a billionaire stocks trader. The show is super stylish and is clever. Like Suits, but better.

I’ve had the BBC adaptation of War and Peace sitting on my Sky+ Box since it was aired in January, and I finally got some time to watch it when I was poorly. I had no idea of the storyline going into it, as the only time it’s ever been referenced to me is usually to say how long it is. I fell in love with the plot and the characters, and it oddly made me want to read the book even more, despite the serious time commitment involved. Paul Dano was fantastic – I’d only ever seen him in 12 Years A Slave and it was nice to see him playing someone I didn’t hate.

We’ve also begun three more shows, two of which we’re loving (Parks and Recreation, and True Detective), and one I think we’ll be giving up on very soon (Ballers with Dwayne Johnson).

I hope the weather sorts itself out soon and we can have a proper summer, but if it doesn’t, at least I know we have some decent TV to watch!

 

One thought on “TV Shows: What I’ve been watching

Leave a Reply

