My Month: May

I’m hard-pressed to think of a month that has flown by as quickly as this one. It’s been packed with sunshine and family and a lot of good food, as well as a week in beautiful Turkey. Here are my highlights:

Food: Something’s changed. Perhaps it’s the binge-watching of programmes like Great British Menu and Masterchef, or maybe it’s the constant liking of videos on Tasty’s Facebook page. Perhaps it’s just the fact that food makes me oh so happy. Whatever it is, I’ve been finding myself experimenting with so many new recipes in the kitchen.

In the past, cooking has come very far down the list of skills I possess (actually, it’s not been on the list at all), but suddenly I’ve found that it’s not just something I enjoy doing, but something that I can do reasonably well. So far, my favourite dishes I’ve managed to make are a cod and chorizo stew and teriyaki mackerel, and I’ve already got a long list of recipes to try out over the summer. It’s lucky that Alex will eat pretty much anything!

 

Holiday: I’m hoping to find the time to dedicate a post just to Turkey and share some of the (many!) photos I took there in the same way I did when I visited Morocco (you can read those here and here). It was completely different to how I’d imagined it would be, but in the best of ways, and I’m already dreaming of the day I can go back there.

Turkey 20161

Fashion: After being inspired by all the Pinterest boards dedicated to capsule wardrobes, I had a big clear out and have been trying to only buy clothes I genuinely need and can be worn with lots of outfits. Something I’d been wanting for a while was a denim jacket, which I wore to death on holiday and expect to continue wearing throughout summer when the evenings get a little cooler.

I loved being able to wear my proper summer clothes in the hot weather abroad, and I’m hoping our British summer will give me an opportunity to wear them again.

 

Turkey 2016

 

Books: I’m currently just ahead of my target number of books I want to read this year. I read Harper Lee’s Go Set A Watchman and I’m glad I’ve finally read it after receiving it for my birthday last year, but sadly it didn’t live up to the expectations I had for it. It was always going to be a tough ask with how much I loved To Kill A Mockingbird, but I found GSAW to be slightly lacking in real action, with it relying instead on Scout’s inner musings too much for my liking.

I also managed to get through two novels during my time away, so keep an eye out for a joint review of these I’ll be posting soon.

 

I hope you’ve all had a lovely May 🙂 x

 

Instagram  |  Bloglovin  |  Twitter  |  Pinterest

 

2 thoughts on “My Month: May

  1. Pingback: My Latest Reads #1 – hollypyt

Leave a Reply

