Restaurant Review: Madrid Tapas, Bath

For Alex’s birthday last year, I took him to Madrid Tapas after so many people had told us how great it was. Since then, we’ve recommended it to everyone we can and decided to go back a few weeks ago.

Just off Queen’s Square in the centre of Bath, the restaurant isn’t big but the two mirrored walls keep it light and feeling spacious. We sat by the window looking out into their garden and enjoyed the fact that the evenings are getting slowly but surely lighter. Then, onto the food…


Tapas is my favourite kind of food because it solves my biggest problem: how indecisive I am. We each chose three things from the menu and ended up sharing most of them. I had pan fried cod with roasted peppers, ox cheek with the skinniest fries ever, and patatas bravas, something we order at any Spanish tapas place we go to. The ox cheek was so tender and I’d order all three again.


Alex is a lot braver than I am when it comes to food (actually I’m just fussy!), and he had duck egg with chorizo and chips, a goat cheese brûlée, and chorizo on bruschetta with melted brie. Goat cheese is too strong for me and I don’t eat eggs, but it all looked and smelled amazing, and he assured me it tasted just as good.


  
I can’t recommend this place enough. The service is always great and there’s enough on the menu that you could go several times and try different things, but not so much that you’d feel overwhelmed looking at it, which can happen when places serve smaller dishes. I’m already thinking about the next time we can go there, which will be when it’s a bit warmer so we can sit outside and eat. Roll on summer!

 Madrid Tapas 

Leave a Reply

