Books: my year so far

  

Since the start of this year, I’ve completed a course in digital marketing and landed myself a new job. Not bad considering it’s only the beginning of March. Because of this, I’ve become interested in reading more business-type books, and it’s definitely made me feel as if I’m learning lots. 

That’s not to say that I’ve turned my back on poetry and fiction; I can safely say that they’re still very much in my life. I suppose it’s just nice to vary what I’m reading, which is what I wanted after all. There’s nothing more boring than reading the same type of book over and over again. 

In January and February, I’ve read:

Zero to One – Peter Thiel

This is the first business book I’ve ever read, and it’s inspiring to see how an idea can be transformed into something massive. Written by PayPal’s founder, it gives an insight into the world of startups and provides solid advice for anyone who wants to work for themselves. By the end, even I was wondering if I could run a business. Just need that million dollar idea now…

Moon Palace – Paul Auster

If I haven’t read at least one Paul Auster book in a year, I’m living my life all wrong. Set in the narrator’s youth, Moon Palace tells the story of an orphan whose life takes some unexpected turns and results in him working for an old man who keeps him on his toes. A story within a story, coincidence plays a massive part. Whilst at times it can seem unbelievable, there’s no denying that it’s beautifully written. 

Try Not To Breathe – Holly Seldon

I was given the chance to review this one before it was released to the general public, and I’m pleased I read it. It’s the perfect book for anyone who’s a fan of The Girl on the Train and Me Before You, as it seems to fall somewhere in between them. When I was younger, I used to be bothered by flawed main characters, but there seems to be a trend in recent stories where we bear witness to the mistakes the narrator has made, and it’s refreshing to see their attempts to move on despite troubled pasts and dependencies. I could imagine this book being made into a film, although I did annoy myself by working out the ending by the time I was a third of the way through…
What have you been reading this month?

One thought on “Books: my year so far

  1. Pingback: April 2016 New Book Releases | hollypyt

Leave a Reply

