What to do when you’re stuck in a rut

Stuck in a rut

We’ve all been there. For whatever reason, or perhaps for no reason at all, we just don’t feel like our normal selves. It can seem like the easiest thing to do in these situations is wallow in self-pity and hope it passes soon, but I’m a massive advocate for taking what life throws at you and throwing it right back. To get out of that rut, here are some things you might want to try.

1. Going for a walk or drive. It’s such a simple idea but changing your environment can open up your mind and encourage you to think differently than normal. You also never know when you might find a new favourite place.

2. Learn a new skill. This could be something you could use to make you better at your job, to help you find a new job, or something completely new that you’ve never tried before. Part of the reason I can feel stuck in a rut sometimes is because I feel like I’m standing still. Trying new things and developing skills makes me feel like I’m actively moving myself forwards, and doing something like completing a course can give you a feeling of accomplishment that lasts weeks after you’ve finished.

3. Read a good book. Being a book nerd, I tend to find this is my answer to most problems. If you find that everything around you is getting you down, it’s comforting to know that you can get lost in another world simply by turning some pages. There is a book out there for every taste, occasion and person, so however you’re feeling, you’ll be able to find one for you.

4. Cook your favourite food. Whether this is something super healthy to make you feel full of beans, or double chocolate brownies that you know you shouldn’t really eat but, meh, you only live once! The process of taking time to get ingredients, mixing them all together and enjoying something you made entirely yourself can give you some much needed relaxation time and breathing space away from whatever is making you feel down.

5. Exercise. Even if you really don’t want to. In the past, I’ve found that going to the gym or for a run as soon as I get up can work best for me because my body doesn’t have any idea what’s happening until it’s too late. And as much as some people hate the idea of exercising (I’m included in this a lot of the time), there has never been a single time I worked out that I didn’t feel good afterwards. I expect it’s down to a mix to endorphins and knowing I’ve accomplished something that day, but it’s always worth the initial inner battle I have with myself about going.

How do you get yourself out of a rut?

One thought on “What to do when you’re stuck in a rut

Leave a Reply

