Looking Ahead

img_8826

This time of year is well-known for being one of reflection. It’s always seemed strange to me that people see the beginning of a new year as the only time you can make a change, but I suppose it makes it easier to measure what you have, or haven’t, achieved in the given timeframe. I’ve never really been one for the whole New Year, New Me stance. There have been relatively few times in my life that I’d wished I could start all over again, and of those times, the eagerness to make changes has been so strong that I’ve started then and there.

I’ll be reflecting on my year in another blog post but now, I want to look ahead. For the sake of ease, I’m going to label it is as 2016: things to be achieved, to do; but I know that there are some things I’ve already started doing, things I’ve already begun thinking about, because why wait?

The Places I Want To Go

I haven’t travelled anywhere near as much as I’d like to, and that’s something I’m working on. One trip is already arranged to visit Turkey, somewhere I’ve never been before. I’ve also dreamed of visiting New York and I’m hoping to make that a reality in 2016 as well.

But it’s not all about leaving home to experience new places. I’m lucky enough to live in a part of the country that’s beautiful and I don’t really make the most of it. It’s certainly in my plans to try a bit harder. There are also simple places from my childhood that I’d love to revisit, such as Westonbirt Arboretum which is stunning no matter what time of year you go.

The People I Want To See

I want to continue making the time to see the people closest to me. Family and friends are the most important thing, and the way you can show them that is by giving them your time and making more memories with them. Especially with friends as we get older, we’ve moved away from home and we’re all making lives for ourselves somewhere, which is great but it means we don’t see each other anywhere near as much as we’d like. They’re the people who make me feel centred and I can be myself with, and I want to make sure I always make room for them in my life.

The Books I Want To Read

As always, the list is endless. Life is too short to read bad books, so I’m always careful about what I find myself reading. I set myself a reading challenge this year and I failed quite miserably at it. Well, perhaps that’s a little harsh. I read more than 1 book every month, which made me happy, but less than 3 a month which was my goal. I think I felt a little hemmed in by the challenge I set myself.

Still, I think some structure to what I’m going to read helps me focus a bit more. I don’t want to feel like I’m reading the same book over and over, because one of the things I love most about reading is the way that it makes you grow and learn about completely new experiences. And, if it wasn’t for the task I gave myself of reading a book by an international author, I would never have given A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara a chance, and god, am I happy I gave that book a chance. It is 100% in the top 5 books I have ever read in my life. It broke my heart multiple times and made me think about it all day and all night, but it was so worth it.

So, I haven’t fully decided on what books will be on my To Be Read list for 2016, but whatever they are, they’ll be diverse and they’ll leave me some room for recommendations and books I stumble across that just scream out to be read. One thing I do know is that I’ll be working hard to get through the mountains of paperbacks I’ve impulse-bought over the last couple of years, because it really is becoming a problem now…

The Steps I Want To Take

Ugh, fitness. This must appear in 99.99% of people’s goals for a new year. I’m actually happy with my body, my weight, all of that, but I want to get into fitness because of my mind. I just think that trying new sports or classes out, pushing myself to run for that extra minute, or to finally be able to do a proper press-up without collapsing in a pathetic mess on the floor, will do wonders for me mentally. Santa (Alex) bought me a Fitbit and, as someone who likes to be able to keep track of numbers and measurements, I’m really looking forward to using it.

The Things I Want To Do

Above all, I want to cut myself some slack. I’ve written a blog post on the pressure I put on myself, but actually I think it’s something we all do, especially younger people. I see things that I want for myself or I swing the complete opposite way and realise I have no idea what I want for myself, and all that pressure I create to move forwards actually means I end up standing still. And that’s something I’d really like to stop doing.

 

What have you got planned for 2016?

One thought on “Looking Ahead

  1. Pingback: How to be financially fit | hollypyt

Leave a Reply

