September Birchbox: Happy Birchday!

SAM_0770

As you’ll know if you’ve read my blog before, I’m a big fan of beauty subscription boxes. I’ve tried a few in the past, and settled on My Little Box as my favourite, but I still keep up to date with what other bloggers and friends get from other boxes, especially Birchbox. So, when I saw that Groupon had a special deal for a 5 month subscription to Birchbox, I decided to treat myself and see how it had changed since I used to get it.

The first month I received was August, and it arrived in time for me to take some of the products on holiday with me. As I took August off from writing and blogging, I didn’t review it but I was impressed with the packaging and the products it included.

This month, Birchbox are celebrating their 5 year birthday. I have to admit that I was a little disappointed as it’s my birthday this month and I thought that it was a special birthday box for me, but hey, I’m willing to share the month with them! Once again, the packaging was on point and I was eager to see what was inside.

SAM_0771

Facial Polish – Laura Mercier – £26

First up was a facial exfoliator from Laura Mercier. I know that Laura Mercier has a few cult products, and I’ve used their Primer since it was included in a beauty box months ago, which I’d recommend. My time in the Moroccan sun has left my forehead peeling a bit (so attractive!) so I’ll be using this to bring my skin back to its normal state.

Citrus Neroli Detangler – John Masters Organics – £16

This promises to get rid of any knots and tangles in hair, which is definitely no bad thing! I like that this can be used as both a normal conditioner or can be left in to work for longer, and I’m hoping the smell will transfer to my hair because it smells like a yummy dessert.

SAM_0777

The Birchbrush – £5.99

I love this! I’m a big fan of the Tangle Teezer and use mine every time I brush my hair. However, sometimes I think people can be put off by the price so it’s nice to see that Birchbox have created one that retails for less. It’s a bit smaller than my TT so I plan on keeping this one in my handbag, and will also be able to use it alongside the conditioner (above).

SAM_0779

Cheeky Lip Pencil – Laqa & Co – £17

Over a year ago, when I first started getting into beauty boxes, I received the Menatour Lip Lube Pencil and got so many compliments from posting this picture of me wearing it:

10557253_10152582536825090_3343499598163809683_n

Since then, I’ve worn it a lot and keep meaning to have a look at what else they have to offer. The pencil I received is in the shade Cray-Cray and I’m really looking forward to trying it out, although I think I’m likely to use it only as a lip pencil rather than a cheek product as well. Laqa & Co are a great brand and I’m pleased that they were included in this box.

Beauty Protector – £8

This shower body wash smells luxurious and creamy, although I feel it’s let down a bit by the packaging – something I seemed to notice more because all the other products included looked more high-end and/or bright. I’m happy to try this out, but at £8, I think it’s a bit too pricey for a shower gel.

the POREfessional: license to blot – Benefit – £15.50

Let’s be honest: you can’t go wrong by including a Benefit product. I’ve mainly only used brow and eye products from them before, so I’m keen to branch out and try something new. I tend to have combination skin for most of the year, and this claims to stop shine easily by simply blotting on the skin. I’ll be keeping this handy in my makeup bag for any touch-ups throughout the day.

SAM_0775

I’ve been impressed by Birchbox, and they’re really making me consider extending my subscription with them. Do any of you get Birchbox every month? What are your thoughts?

Holly x

Bloglovin  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest

4 thoughts on “September Birchbox: Happy Birchday!

  1. I’ve been subscribed to Birchbox since May and I’m really loving it. This months box was probably one of my favourites! I think you get a lot for your money and it always pushes me to try unusual products I wouldn’t normally think to purchase 🙂 xxx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

