Catch Up & My August Favourites!

Hello! Wow, I haven’t looked at my blog for a good few weeks now as I mentioned would be the case in my last post, and I definitely missed it. The time away was good though, really good. Lots happened, and I really feel like I gained some perspective on loads of things, as well as feeling refreshed and ready to focus on the things that mean most to me.

Over the next few weeks, I’ll post more about my adventures in my time off, but needless to say Morocco definitely didn’t disappoint. It was beautiful and eye-opening and so different from anywhere I’ve been before. I’d 100% go back there in the future, and it was the perfect place for us to have our first holiday and celebrate a year together.

What made it even better was knowing when the holiday came to an end, we could come back to our lovely apartment. We worked hard to make it feel our own and I can genuinely say this is the happiest I’ve ever been. Things just seem to be coming together at the moment, and I can’t help but feel unbelievably grateful for everything around me.

There are still lots of things to look forward to in the upcoming months, and I’m hoping my blog growing and becoming better is going to be one of them. In the meantime, here are my highlights/favourites of August and a little bit of early September:

Books

I’m one of those people who feel like there’s never enough time to read all the books on my ever-growing list. Luckily, over the 11 days we were away I managed to get through 4 books, all of which were amazing. I’ll be reviewing them here in the coming weeks as they’re all deserving of more than a quick mention, but the one that was my stand-out was A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara. Ugh, it’s so beautiful and utterly heart-wrenching. I honestly think this is the most emotionally challenging book I’ve ever read, and whilst it’s fairly long, I can’t recommend it enough.

Summer reading

Films

On the way back from the airport, me and Alex got to talking about great actors and Denzel came up (obviously!). When we got home, the first film we watched was Training Day and it was SO good. I prefer Denzel Washington being the good badass like in The Equalizer, but no matter who he plays, he’s always so damn cool. How, how does he do that? More importantly, how can I do that?!

TV

Food programmes. ALL the food programmes. Bake Off? Yes. Great British Menu? Absolutely. I’ll watch them all, and I’ll do it with a big bar of chocolate to really get into the spirit of things.

Places

Agadir. You beautiful, beautiful place, you.

Sunset in Agadir

Event

Moving house. I had so much fun finding all the bits and bobs to make it into a home, including my very Pinteresty mason jar drinking glasses.

Bath

Fashion

I made the most of the summer sales and bought lots of bright bikinis for our holiday.

Sunbathing in Agadir

Beauty

The great thing about being away in the sun is that I didn’t wear much make-up and my skin thanked me for it (except for the day my nose got a little Rudolphy!). I saw a great deal on Groupon for a 5 month subscription to Birchbox, so I’ll be posting my reviews on those boxes soon. We all know I love a good beauty box. I’m not sure if it counts as beauty but I also got my first henna and it’s making me wish I could have them done more often – just like a tattoo but easier to change and none of the pain!

Henna

It’s been a great month and I can’t wait to see what’s in store for me moving forwards.

What were your best parts of the summer?

Holly x

Leave a Reply

