My July Favourites

It seems like July has been quite a quiet month over on my blog. In reality, lots has been going on, with even more coming up in the next couple of months, so I’ve found that my time for my blog has been stripped back slightly. My mind is filled with lots of ideas for things to write about, and I’m keen to get them all down, but I’m still in the process of working out what I want this blog to really be like. For that reason, and because I’m moving house and going on holiday in August, I’m going to be taking a break from my blog and will be back in September (of course you can still keep up with me on Instagram etc). In the meantime, here’s what I’ve been up to and loving:

Books first, obviously

You’d think with a To Be Read pile as big as mine, I’d be powering on with new books. Well, I am, but I also am dedicating some of my reading time to books I’ve read before. My absolute favourite book of the month is George Orwell’s 1984, which I’ll definitely be writing a post on soon, because there’s so much to say about it. I’ve also been loving the chance to get to read books before they’re published, and I’m currently working my way through a new translation of Paul Morand’s The Man In A Hurry. Expect lots of book reviews in the near future.

Films

Terminator Genisys! Here’s something I never thought I’d say: I definitely have a soft spot for Arnie. I’m looking forward to watching the four films that came before this one, as the storyline is amazing and I love films with a history like these do.

Terminator Genisys

TV

I’ve been massively slacking on watching Breaking Bad this month (yes, I know I’m 50 years behind the rest of the world). I just find that I can’t watch too much of it at once because, jeez, that’s a lot of meth. Shows about council houses and benefits though? I can’t get enough of them! How To Get A Council House, Too Fat To Work, these are my kind of viewing. You can’t help what you like.

Music

Hello, Apple Music. You’re actually a lot better than I thought you’d be, even if I’m not quite sure I’ll pay for you after my 90 days is up. Late again jumping on the bandwagon, but Taylor Swift’s 1989 is pretty good, isn’t it? I’ve also been loving Tinie Tempah’s Not Letting Go (because it screams summer tune), Trey Songz’s Slow Motion (because it’s really bassy in my car) and Miguel’s Coffee (because it’s beautiful).

Fashion

My new Nike Roshe trainers! I’m still not sure I’m entirely cool enough to pull them off, but even if I’m not, they’re still getting worn because they are SO. COMFY. Plus they make me a bit taller. Added height without the pain of heels: what more could you want?

Nike Roche

People & Achievements

I’m going to take a moment to be a little bit mushy. I just wanted to acknowledge the amazing family and boyfriend I’m lucky enough to have in my life. Clearly they’re my favourites every month, but I probably don’t tell them enough how much I love them. They all support me and cheer me up without even knowing they’re doing it, and they all put up with me being a bit of a weirdo at the best of times! Special shoutout to my little brother who is actually fast become an old man, and graduated this month. I’m prouder than words could describe, and I know he’s excited to crack on with his Masters in September. I’m officially the dunce of the family.

Graduation

Places

I was so hoping I could write that my favourite place of the month was being in a hot air balloon above Bath. Sadly, our flight was cancelled and re-arranged to a little later on in the year. I also know that next month my favourite place will be a tough call between our shiny new apartment we’re due to move into soon, and Morocco at the end of the month. July will have to make do with London as number one, as it’s always nice heading back to my roots. It’s also been lovely to just get out in the sun and go for walks on beautiful evenings like this one:

Walks along the canal in Bath

Beauty

A little different this month. Rather than a product, I instead have to mention the Cute app that my friend showed me, which lets you buy makeup for discounted prices. I haven’t bought anything yet, mainly because I’m worried that as soon as I buy one thing, I’ll buy the whole shop. It’s a nice way to try out new makeup products, styles and techniques without it costing the earth.

Food

We went for dinner at a place called Madrid Tapas this month. We’d heard good things about it and definitely weren’t disappointed! The food came out as soon as it was ready, but I don’t think we had to wait longer than 10 minutes for anything. Everything was really rich and delicious and we’ll definitely be going back there again!

Madrid Tapas, Bath

And lastly, being a kid again…

I bought myself a colouring book! I’ve been seeing so many all over the place and have heard they’re really good for relaxation. I took advantage of Amazon Prime day to get one for less than normal, and I’m so glad I did. It’s really therapeutic to just sit down in the evening with my Crayola pencils and forget about the world for a little while. Also it takes out the hard part of actually drawing something to colour in, which I really can’t do.

Colouring in

See you all in September!

Holly x

Bloglovin  |  Instagram  |  Twitter  |  Pinterest

4 thoughts on “My July Favourites

Leave a Reply

