Review: Garnier vs Simple Micellar Water

Micellar water has been part of my skincare routine for a long time now. When I was younger, I used to swear by makeup wipes, until I read a fair few things online that suggested they’re not the best thing for skin. It made me consider what alternatives were available because I’ve always had sensitive skin, and as much as I love beauty products, there are quite a lot out there that I can’t use because they make me all blotchy and red – attractive or what!

So, when I started hearing a few bloggers and YouTubers talk about micellar water, I decided to give it a go. Since then, I haven’t turned back. No allergic reactions, no fuss, just a decent product that doesn’t cost the earth. More recently, I’ve been seeing more brands bringing out their own versions of micellar water. The one I swear by is the Garnier Micellar Cleansing Water, and I decided to pit it against Simple’s version to see how the two compare.

Let’s start by appearance – I really like how simplistic both bottles are, and they both come in good sizes that last me a few months normally. Garnier have recently updated their bottle so it’s a bit less curvy, so it will look a little different to the photos I have here.

Garnier micellar water

Garnier’s product always feels refreshing and is able to take all my makeup off without me needing to put very much effort in. What I especially love is that it takes off my eye makeup really easily, so I know that if I have a big night out and am wearing eyeliner, mascara etc, it will all definitely be coming off and I can avoid waking up with panda eyes. It’s also perfect for sensitive skin because it’s light and doesn’t leave any residue on my skin, whereas with wipes my skin always used to feel dried out. The other great thing is that it easily takes off lip makeup, too, without leaving a weird taste on my lips. With wipes, if I took off lipstick, I was always really conscious of not licking my lips in case I could taste all the chemicals (weird, I know!).

What drew me to the Simple micellar cleansing water was the fact that Simple is such a great brand for sensitive skin. I religiously use their day and night moisturiser, and I always feel like products work better when paired with other things from the same brand – not sure if this is actually true or not! The design of the bottle is very in-keeping with their brand, and the water itself has virtually no smell. I know that some people like perfumed products but I really don’t – I tried out a Cowshed moisturiser and had to give it straight to my mum because the smell was so overpowering.

Simple micellar water

I feel like Simple’s product is a little weaker than Garnier’s, as I found myself needing to use more of the product to achieve the same results. It also struggled a bit with my mascara, and as I don’t wear a lot of eye makeup, I wonder whether this will be useless on those girls who are more glamorous than me! My face also did feel a bit sticky after using it – not a lot, but it definitely wasn’t the same super clean feeling I felt after using Garnier’s product.

All in all, I would definitely use Garnier’s water again (sat with the bottle next to me right now waiting to take my makeup off!), and I probably would use Simple’s again if I couldn’t get my hands on Garnier’s, a situation I did find myself in when there were beauty reviews of Garnier’s product absolutely everywhere I looked. Both do a good job and are cheap to buy, but Garnier is safely remaining my favourite for how long-lasting a bottle is, how well it works, and the fresh feeling it gives my skin after, something desperately needed with how hot the weather has been recently!

Have you tried any other brands of micellar water? I’m on the lookout to see how others compare!

Holly x

One thought on “Review: Garnier vs Simple Micellar Water

  1. Pingback: Unboxing: My Little Road Trip Box! | hollypyt

Leave a Reply

