My May Favourites!

May has been a bit of an odd month. I’m trying to work out whether it seems like it’s passed quickly, or taken an absolute age. It was my mum’s birthday this month so we had a day out to catch one of the last showings of Cinderella (brilliant film), and I also re-dyed the ends of my hair but went a bit lighter this time ready for the summer (which better be a hot, sunny one). I also got contact lenses, but other than that, it’s been pretty quiet.

Here are my favourite parts of May:

Beauty: After hearing great things about NARS for ages, I finally popped into Jolly’s in Bath and tested out some of their products. I sampled one of their semi-matte lipsticks and a contour set, but what I finally walked away with was the NARS Brow Perfector. Review on this coming soon!

Blogging: This month I’ve been trying out a few of the weekly Twitter chats to find other similar bloggers out there and to learn a few tricks, as well as swap tips on beauty and hear about new book releases. It’s great being able to talk with like-minded people, and it encouraged me to start a second Twitter just for my blog so I can actively get involved in the chats (@hollypyt). The two I’ve been a part of this month are #bbloggers which takes place on a Sunday night, usually around 8pm, and #bookbloggers which takes place every Tuesday between 7 and 8pm.

Film: Mad Max was both mine and Alex’s first choice to see for date night. It’s so good! When I heard it described as a 2 hour long car chase, I was a little worried it might get repetitive, but the non-stop action keeps you on the edge of your seat, and it’s very well done. You can’t really go wrong if Tom Hardy and Charlize Theron are both starring though, can you? Also worth mentioning are Birdman and Foxcatcher – I wouldn’t say either is the kind of film I’d normally watch but both are brilliant and 100% worth watching.

Hey-Girl-Mad-Max-1

Book: The Hunger Games Trilogy! Finally finished, and review coming very soon. I have to mention The Turn of the Screw as well, not because it’s a favourite but because I’m proud of myself to have made it through without having a single nightmare.

Place: Vizion in Bath for making my hair look like this:

IMG_7341

Podcast: Mortified – it’s so funny hearing what people did when they were younger, especially things like writing love letters to their crushes. It’s made me remember some of the funny things I did as a kid, like making my own library and trying to loan pennies to my family. Moving on…

Fashion: since I finally bit the bullet and committed to joining the gym, my Nike trainers have been getting a bit more use! They’re ridiculously comfy and I’m looking to get some Free Runs in a less bright colour to wear casually.

Music: I’ve been listening to a lot of upbeat songs on my gym playlist, with my favourite being Cool by Alesso feat. Roy English. Other than that, Mumford & Son’s album has been on repeat whenever I’ve been driving – best song on the album has to be Tompkin Square Park. I’ve also been playing a lot of The Weeknd: his new song The Hills and his old stuff from Trilogy.

A quick word on my blog in June: I’m planning to upload twice a week throughout the month, once on Sunday and once on a Wednesday evening! 🙂

What were your favourite things in May?

Holly x

Bloglovin  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest

Leave a Reply

