Book Releases: The Month Ahead #1

As part of my attempt to stay more up to date with the literary world (rather than just surrounding myself with classics), each month I’ll be looking at the upcoming releases that have caught my eye.

June 2015 Releases I’m looking out for:

Stephen King - Finders Keepers

‘Finders Keepers’ – Stephen King (out 2nd June)

There’s something about novels studying writers that always pulls me in. I’m fascinated so much that I even wrote my dissertation on it, and you know that you’re interested by something if you can write 12,000 words and spend months of your life on just that one thing. Stephen King’s latest novel focuses on the murder of a writer, and is the second in a trilogy, the first being ‘Mr Mercedes’. I have to admit that King has quite a few books on my To Be Read list but I’ve yet to actually read one, so I think this trilogy would be a great place to start.

*******

Adam Richman - Straight Up Tasty‘Straight Up Tasty: Meals, Memories, and Mouthfuls from My Travels’ – Adam Richman (out 11th June)

I’m sure you’ve all watched Man vs. Food before, right? Well, Adam Richman is releasing a cookbook/memoir this month with more than 100 recipes in. I don’t do much cooking and have never owned a cookbook in my life, but watching his show always made me hungry (even the giant challenges where he ate my bodyweight in food) so I’m keen to see what sort of food he rates as good enough to write about.

*******

Courtney Dasher - Tuna Melts My Heart

‘Tuna Melts My Heart: The Underdog with the Overbite’ – Courtney Dashar (and Tuna!) (out 4th June)

Tuna Melts My Heart is one of my absolute favourite Instagram accounts. He’s the cutest, weirdest looking dog and he looks like me when I sleep. It’s become quite the trend recently for internet sensations to release books, so I guess this one was only a matter of time. This one promises to show Tuna’s best pictures alongside a behind-the-scenes look at the daily life of Tuna himself.

*******

Meera Syal - The House of Hidden Mothers

‘The House of Hidden Mothers’ – Meera Syal (out 4th June)

I really love reading books about other cultures, but even more I like seeing two cultures being brought together. This tells two stories, one of a woman wanting a child with a younger man, and the other of a young girl dreaming of escaping an oppressive marriage. I’ve always thought Meera Syal was brilliant and funny, so I’m keen to see how her personality translates to a novel.

*******

Justine Ezarik - I, Justine

‘I, Justine’ – Justine Ezarik (out 2nd June)

The world of vlogging amazes me. It’s become so popular over the last few years, and it’s such a simple concept: people filming their day to day life and sharing it on the internet. Justine Ezarik is one of the frontrunners in that industry, with millions of subscribers to her various channels across the web. I wonder how many vloggers that I watch have been influenced by her.

*******

Dave Trott - One Plus One Equals Three

‘One Plus One Equals Three: A Masterclass in Creative Thinking’ – Dave Trott (out 4th June)

Macmillan’s site describes this as: ‘A masterclass in how to be more creative, from one of the world’s true advertising greats.’ I’ve never been sure that creativity is something you can teach in any real way, but now that I’m pursuing a career that requires me to be more creative, it definitely can’t hurt to get my hands on this and see what it has to say!

*******

Renee Ahdieh - The Wrath and the Dawn

‘The Wrath and the Dawn’ – Renee Ahdieh (out 1st June)

A prince weds a new bride every night, only to have her killed in the morning. Knowing of this deadly pattern, Shahrzad volunteers to marry the prince anyway, with a plan of outsmarting and exacting revenge on him. This a reworking of an old story that’s been passed down through the ages, so I’m planning on reading both together.

*******

What books are you looking forward to this month?

Holly x

Bloglovin   |   Twitter   |   Instagram   |   Pinterest

One thought on “Book Releases: The Month Ahead #1

Leave a Reply

