My new favourite foundation – L’Oreal Infallible 24H-Matte

You may have seen in my April Favourites post that I was loving the new foundation I’d picked up from L’Oreal. I’ve tried a lot of foundations since I first began wearing makeup. Some have been great, some have been expensive, and a fair few have been downright awful. So, you can imagine how happy I was to find this little gem.

It’s had quite a lot of coverage in the beauty blogosphere, but I waited a while before trying it because I don’t like to buy things purely because there’s a hype around them. Before this, I was using the YSL Fusion Foundation which was amazing, but at £32 a pop for something I was buying almost every month, I was keen to see if I could find something just as good on the high street.

L'Oreal Infallible 24 Hr-Matte Foundation

The Infallible foundation retails at £7.99 which is an absolute bargain, especially as Boots had L’Oreal makeup on 3 for 2 when I was buying it. Don’t get me wrong – buying designer makeup is great when you can afford it and it’s good quality, and it’s nice to get a free gift bag every so often, but it can’t compete with the deals you’re able to get on the high street. In terms of price, this one is a real winner.

On to the product itself. The tube says it is a medium texture and high coverage. I’m not really sure what it means in terms of texture here, but I’d personally describe it as quite lightweight and smooth, whilst it definitely gives good coverage. In the past I’ve found foundations that describe themselves as matte to be rather drying on the skin, but this isn’t the case here. It can last for hours (although maybe not 24 hours as the packaging suggests) with minimal powder and touch ups, which is only prolonged if you’re using a good primer – at the moment, I’m using this one from Laura Mercier.

For the majority of foundations I’ve used, I’ve applied them using my Real Techniques foundation or buffing brush, product depending, but I’ve found that I actually get the best coverage and overall finish when I use my fingers to apply it. I’ve got no problem with this as it means I don’t have to clean my makeup brushes nearly as much!

L'Oreal Infallible 24H-Matte Swatch

If I had to find a fault with this, it would have to be the colour range. Boots only had 4 to choose from, and after swatching them it was still really difficult to tell which was right for me, so I bought three different shades (the power of a bargain on offer). None of them were perfect, so I’ve ended up mixing two different shades to get as close to my colour as possible – 11 Vanilla and 20 Sand. Despite the names of these, I’d love to see L’Oreal bring out some more shades with stronger yellow tones. Without them doing this, I think it’ll be difficult for me to find my perfect shade.

I imagine they have more shades in the pipeline and are just trying out the most common shades as a trial. I expect with the amount of rave reviews I’ve seen that this product will be around for a while. I just hope they don’t start inching the price up as it’s one of its best selling points alongside the quality.

Have any of you tried this product? What are your thoughts on it?

Holly x

One thought on “My new favourite foundation – L’Oreal Infallible 24H-Matte

Leave a Reply

