My April Favourites!

April felt like a long month, but boy was it a good one! Beautiful weather, properly settling in to my new job, and trips out with loved ones made it brilliant. Here are my favourite things from the month:

Beauty:

L’Oreal Infallible 24H-Matte Foundation – everyone’s been raving about this and I’ll have a review shortly for you all, but it’s safe to say this is in the top 3 foundations I’ve ever used (and I’ve made my way through a lot!)

L'Oreal Infallible 24 Hr-Matte Foundation

Fashion:

The high-waisted black ripped Jamie jeans from Topshop, these to be precise. I was on the fence for ages about ripped jeans, but after seeing them everywhere I couldn’t resist the urge. I’ve always had an issue with Topshop sizing – anyone else always feel like you have to go at least a size up? – but these fit perfectly so I’ll definitely be getting more from there in the future.

Book:

I’ll let you in on a little secret – I’m supposed to be banned from buying books. Anyone who’s seen my two bookcases in my room, under my bed (although not sure why anyone would have!) and the spare rooms in my house will understand why I had to ban myself. But obsessions are hard to put to rest, and this month when I went shopping and found myself in Waterstones, I couldn’t help but pick up this Vintage Classics Collection. It has Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, Little Women and The Secret Garden: books I absolutely loved when I was growing up. It was in the sale so I feel buying these were justified (any excuse…)

Vintage Classics

Film:

Nightcrawler – how good an actor is Jake Gyllenhaal?! We missed this one when it came out at the cinema, so I had to buy it on DVD; definitely money well spent. It’s dark and worrying and a little bit insane to see the lengths Gyllenhaal’s character will go to for success, but it’s also brilliant. I found that I expected something slightly different from the end of the film, but I’d still happily recommend this to anyone.

TV Show:

Alex and I have finally gotten round to starting Game of Thrones. Yes, starting. We’re not on Season 5 like the rest of the world seems to be judging by the amount people have been talking about it! I wanted to read the books before I watched the show, which took me from January to November last year, so I can now watch them with a clear conscience that I’m not breaking my rule of book first. Such a good series, and I’m interested to see how much the show strays from the story I’ve come to know and love.

Trip:

DERREN BROWN! This was my favourite moment of the month. For Christmas, I bought Alex tickets to see Derren Brown, so we headed off to Birmingham to see him and stayed overnight. The hotel and the venue were within 10 mins of New Street, and for the first trip I’ve planned entirely myself, I think it went pretty well! I won’t spoil the surprise of what the show contained, because there’s nothing quite like that feeling of wonder when you see it for the first time, whether live or on TV. Needless to say, it was definitely my favourite of the shows I’ve seen live (this makes three in total), and quite possibly one of my favourites of the ones I’ve seen on TV. Even if you’re sceptical of what he’s doing, he’s clearly brilliant at what he does, and anyone can take a lot of inspiration from that.

The view of Birmingham from PentaHotel

What was your favourite part of April?

Holly x

4 thoughts on “My April Favourites!

  1. Pingback: My new favourite foundation – L’Oreal Infallible 24H-Matte | hollypyt

Leave a Reply

