My Favourite Book of the Year So Far

I think we can all agree that Mindy Kaling is pretty amazing. She brilliantly plays the whiny yet sassy Kelly Kapoor on the US Office as well as writing many of the episodes, and she really comes into her own in The Mindy Project. She’s also been inspirational and hilarious in all the interviews I’ve seen/read with her, so I was really keen to read ‘Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me?’, her book of essays on the title subject and other random experiences of her life so far.

I’m always a little reluctant to read books written by popular celebrities. I think I worry that they’re writing because they’ll make money or because it’s a good career move, rather than because they actually have something to say. That definitely wasn’t a problem with this. Mindy takes on a conversational tone with the reader as she honestly presents her book as something you could read quickly, and whilst she’s right, you find yourself purposefully slowing down so that you can savour her humour and unique perspective on so many things.

I found myself reading the book completely in Mindy’s voice, although I do find it hard to distinguish between Mindy Kaling, Mindy Lahiri and Kelly Kapoor. It’s not that I think they’re similar, but more that the latter two are so well played by Kaling that you start to forget that they’re just characters. It was quite refreshing to read something so honest. She talks about her group of friends as she was growing up, splitting her friendship groups into the gang at school and her neighbour, both of whom teach her valuable lessons about who she is and who she wants to be. She also is frank about issues such as her weight, claiming that it’s really not a priority for her to be skinny. For someone who’s in the public eye a lot, it’s nice to see that Mindy is fully comfortable with who she is – and with how successful she is, being true to herself is clearly working for her.

Mindy also writes about her time on The Office (although it’s written a few years ago now back when The Office was still running), and as a massive fan of that show it’s so interesting to get an insider viewpoint of what writing a hit show is like. She makes sure to dispel any myths about how glamorous it all might be by including pictures of herself in her usual writing habitat – her bed. It all just adds to how likeable she is as a person, rather than just as a character on TV.

My trusty GoodReads app tells me that Mindy has another book coming out this year called ‘Why Not Me?’, a title that resonates not just with Mindy herself, but with the new wave of feminist/pop culture books that seem to be everywhere at the moment, such as Amy Poehler’s ‘Yes Please’ and Lena Dunham’s ‘Not That Kind Of Girl’. These are already on my reading list, and Mindy’s upcoming book has secured its place on there as well. With a release date of Sept 29th, I’m jumping the gun and adding it to my birthday wishlist!

Have any of you read Mindy Kaling’s book, or any of the others mentioned? As always, I’m keen to hear your thoughts!

P.S. If any of you want to hear a bit more about this book, I thought Essie Button’s video on it was brilliant (as all of her videos are!) and you can watch it here.

Holly x

Extra little note: I’m slowly updating and adding bits to my blog as I’ve been posting for a little while now. Moving forward, I’ll be aiming to post at least once a week on a Sunday so feel free to check back once a week then, or to follow me on Bloglovin’, or to sign up to the mailing list! You can also find my social media buttons on my homepage, so feel free to click and follow if you’re not already! 🙂

2 thoughts on “My Favourite Book of the Year So Far

  1. Pingback: September Book Releases | hollypyt

Leave a Reply

